

# BOARD OF TRUSTEES EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE COMMITTEE JUNE 27, 2024

UNIVERSITY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DURHAM, NH

# MEETING MINUTES

# Attendance

Committee members present: Jackie Eastwood, chair; George Hansel, vice chair; Emily Coutermarsh; Frank Edelblut; Patrick Griffin; Tim Hoheneder; Shawn Jasper; Mackenzie Murphy; Jonah Rosenberg; Wayne Semprini; Christiana Thornton; David Westover (remote); Matthew Winders

Other trustees present: Kassandra Ardinger; Donald Birx; James Burnett, III; James Dean, Jr.; James Gerry, Governor Sununu's designee; James Gray, designee for the president of the NH Senate; Kevin Knarr (remote); Rick Ladd, designee for the speaker of the NH House of Representatives; Joel Nkounkou (remote); Peter Paul; Michael Pilot; Morgan Rutman; Gregg Tewksbury; Melinda Treadwell

Other participants: Leslie Barber, Nathaniel Bowditch, Kim DeRego, Wayne Jones, Joanne Landers, MB Lufkin, Kate Ziemer

# **Call to Order**

Committee Chair Eastwood called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. and called attention to the NH occupational projections included in the meeting materials.

#### **Consent Agenda Approval**

Motion, moved by Chair Eastwood, duly seconded, and approved.

VOTED, that the Educational Excellence Committee approve the Consent Agenda.

Consent Items:

Action – Approval of March 7, 2024, Minutes Information – Academic Program Changes Information – Annual Academic Reports

# **Promotion & Tenure Overview and Recommendations**

Provosts Jones and Bowditch presented information about institutional policies, principles, and procedures for promoting faculty and awarding tenure, thereby fulfilling the requirement for periodic review of the institutions' practices by the Education Excellence Committee as set forth in Board policy. After discussion, motions for internal candidate promotion and tenure award and for appointments with tenure, below, were offered and approved.

Motion, moved by Chair Eastwood, duly seconded, and approved.

VOTED, on recommendation of the respective presidents, that the Educational Excellence Committee approve the promotion and tenure recommendations for faculty of the University of New Hampshire, Keene State College, and Plymouth State University, as presented in the supporting material.

Names of the individuals approved for promotion and/or the award of tenure are listed below.

#### **Plymouth State University**

Professor Ryanne Carmichael Chantalle Forgues James Hannon Michael Mariska Kimberly Ritchie Hilary Swank Amy Villamagna Chen Wu Eun-Ho Yeo

#### **Keene State College**

Professor Amber Davisson Sarah McGregor

Associate Professor with Tenure Taylor Dunne

# **University of New Hampshire**

Professor Jennifer Brewer Andre Brito Devkamal Dutta Rebecca Glauber Suzanne Graham Kholekile Gwebu Iago Hale Jeffrey Halpern Josh Lauer Matthew MacManes Svetlana Peshkova Rebecca Rowe Associate Professor with Tenure Lisa Ahearn Jonathan Dapra Jennifer DeMoras Nicholas Helms Sriharsha Mallapuram Aimee Pascale

Associate Professor John Hart Emily Lambert Kim Lauffer Eric Shannon Karen Stanish

Associate Professor with Tenure **Jessie Bennett** Sherman Bigornia Kathryn Brewer Ileana Chirila Patricia Condon Maeve Dion Nathan Furey Fabian Kislat Laura Kloepper **Robert Letscher** MD Shaad Mahmud Ion Nash Amy Ramage Cinthia Satornino Sarah Theimer Anna Wainwright Jolie Wormwood Dongpeng Xu Liese Zahabi Kate Zambon Ann Zimo

*Tenure* Jeffrey Cohen Diana Falco

*Tenure* Rita Augustyn Fernando del Arna Gonzalo Jesse Marcum Jared Nelson Christopher Rennix Kirk Sanger Dana Smith

Tenure

Teresa Cohn Renee Heath Terrence O'Sullivan Seth Oranburg

Motion, moved by Chair Eastwood, duly seconded, and approved.

VOTED, on recommendation of the respective presidents, that the Educational Excellence Committee approve the promotion and tenure recommendations for faculty of the University of New Hampshire, Keene State College, and Plymouth State University, as presented in the supporting material.

The names of the individuals will be disclosed upon final approval by the full Board of Trustees.

#### University System Student Board (USSB) Report

Deferred due to year-end student transitions.

# Fall 2024 Enrollment

An update on FAFSA delays and the impact on fall admissions was delivered by campus enrollment management leaders: Kimberly DeRego, UNH vice provost for enrollment management; Joanne Landers, PSU vice president for enrollment management and communications; and MB Lufkin, KSC vice president of enrollment and student engagement. The delay, subsequent condensed admissions time frame, and federal changes to the financial need and family contribution formula all contribute to uncertainty in assessing fall enrollment and potential summer melt. Trustee Thronton announced a FAFSA completion outreach initiative to be conducted throughout the summer by Granite Edvance to encourage application for fall. Discussion touched on the enrollment constraints of the traditional higher education model and prospects for developing a disruption strategy. There was agreement that enrollment reporting going forward will routinely include nontraditional student populations, including transfer, graduate, online, and noncredit activity.

# **USNH-CCSNH Collaboration**

Kate Ziemer, UNH senior vice provost, and Leslie Barber, retired Great Bay Community College professor and Faculty Fellow for the Community College System, provided an update on compliance with HB 1530 relative to establishing transfer pathways, reporting that efforts have exceeded the legislated requirement yielding 55 universal transfer pathways to date, with another 32 on track for implementation this summer. Technology solutions are underway to operationalize processes for navigating course equivalencies and program articulation. Chancellor Provencher provided an update on efforts by both systems' leadership to implement USNH-CCSNH Task Force recommendations. She reported that work on the majority of the recommended actions had already been occurring, but further time and resources, along with expanded partnership with K-12 and the business community, will be necessary to fully implement the recommendations. Provost Jones stated that, additionally, academic leadership of both systems are working to create a mechanism for uniform Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) that would adopt national standards, with the UNH College of Professional Studies Online potentially serving as an assessment clearinghouse.

# Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.